Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Podcast # 880 is now up featuring a grab bag of recent TV and movies.
 
collapse

* Star Trek Daily Pic

click to see larger

* Recent Pics

tsf8830.png
Posted by: Rico
tsf8820.png
Posted by: Rico
tsf8810.png
Posted by: Rico
tsf8800.png
Posted by: Rico
tsf8790.png
Posted by: Rico

* Facebook Group

click to see group on Facebook

* Paypal Donations

Donate via Paypal
Subscribe via Paypal

* Links & Info

Treks in Sci-Fi

Attic of my Mind

Job for a Hero

Voicemail: (641) 715-3900 ext: 472366

Author Topic: CHAT function now on forum...  (Read 18514 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rico

  • Star Trek Lives
  • Administrator
  • Ruler of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 26654
  • Geeks Rule!
    • TREKS in SCI-FI
    • Email
CHAT function now on forum...
« on: April 01, 2006, 03:02:44 PM »
If you look at the top near the Profile button there is a new "Chat" link.  This will open a Java window that you can chat in with others that are currently on the forums.  Hope this is a fun new function for everyone!   :phone

(Note, you may need to install Java in order for it to function.)
« Last Edit: April 01, 2006, 03:13:14 PM by Rico »

Offline Geekyfanboy

  • Shiny!!!!
  • Global Moderator
  • Master of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 11918
  • Shiny
    • My Personal Website
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2006, 03:06:01 PM »
That is great Rico.. I was hoping you would add a feature like this...
« Last Edit: April 01, 2006, 09:14:25 PM by StarTrekFanatic5 »

Offline Picard_delta_5

  • Captain of the Universe
  • Fleet Admiral
  • *
  • Posts: 1607
  • Tea - Earl Grey... Hot
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2006, 12:39:57 AM »
nice, good idea, thanks
Star Trek Will Rise Again

Offline Rico

  • Star Trek Lives
  • Administrator
  • Ruler of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 26654
  • Geeks Rule!
    • TREKS in SCI-FI
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2006, 03:45:39 AM »
Some seem to be having trouble getting this to work.  Make sure you have the latest version of Java installed.  If you are still having trouble. post your browser version and settings here and I will try to help.

Get the latest Java installation software here:
http://www.java.com/en/download/windows_xpi.jsp

You'll need to have this installed to run the CHAT function on your computer.  Note this is the Windows Java version, I'm sure there is a Mac version out there if that's the system you run.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2006, 05:38:04 AM by Rico »

Offline Yeoman Mara

  • Geek Girl
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 272
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2006, 07:52:01 AM »
Seems to be working for me!  Sound like a lot of fun!!  :)
A redhead with a lightsaber is a dangerous combination!

Offline Geekyfanboy

  • Shiny!!!!
  • Global Moderator
  • Master of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 11918
  • Shiny
    • My Personal Website
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2006, 10:08:00 AM »
I need help guys.. I still can't get Chat to work. I am using the lastest version of IE  and I have installed and verified that I have the lastest version on Java.. but still all I get is a grey screen with one button at the bottom that says float on it. I then tried my Mozilla Firefox browser and get the same thing... Any ideas??
« Last Edit: April 02, 2006, 10:10:33 AM by StarTrekFanatic5 »

Offline Rico

  • Star Trek Lives
  • Administrator
  • Ruler of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 26654
  • Geeks Rule!
    • TREKS in SCI-FI
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2006, 10:29:13 AM »
Have you tried Firefox Kenny?  I use the latest Firefox version and Java installed.  When I first ran it I had to allow it permission to run something, can't recall what it said exactly.  Some kind of security setting I think.  I'll keep looking into it on my end too.  Sorry for the troubles, but I think some have got it working.

Offline Fanboy

  • Shiny!
  • Commodore
  • *
  • Posts: 368
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2006, 02:34:24 PM »
Neat!  Seems to work ok on my WinXp machine.  Using Firefox here too.  Only way to browse baby!
"I aim to misbehave."

Offline Riskygodfather

  • Supreme Ruler
  • Fleet Admiral
  • *
  • Posts: 1994
  • Don't follow... Lead
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2006, 03:14:20 PM »
Hmm, I haven't a clue Kenny, sorry. And Rico, sorry to be rude (if this is rude) but in the last statement of his statment Kenny said "I tried it in Mozzilla Firfox browser and the same thing". So your question is kinda irrelevant.
"Do a barrel roll" - Peppy, StarFox 64
"Coincidence... I think NOT!" - Bear, Polkadot Shorts
"If at first you don't succeed... you fail" -Portal preview

 Admiral Anthony Out

Offline Geekyfanboy

  • Shiny!!!!
  • Global Moderator
  • Master of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 11918
  • Shiny
    • My Personal Website
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2006, 04:38:10 PM »
Yeah I guess I"m the only one having problems.. I thought maybe it was a firewall thing.. but I'm turned it off and on and still nothing. I'll continue to play with it. it has to be something very simple.   

Just tried to get into Yahoo chat and it failed.. something is up with my java...

Well got my yahoo chat to work with java.. but still nothing with this chat.. hmmmm
« Last Edit: April 02, 2006, 05:11:30 PM by StarTrekFanatic5 »

Offline Rico

  • Star Trek Lives
  • Administrator
  • Ruler of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 26654
  • Geeks Rule!
    • TREKS in SCI-FI
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2006, 06:10:03 PM »
Sorry I missed you tried it with Firefox too Kenny (you are using the lastest Firefox in Win XP I hope).  I have chatted with others that have it working, so I know it can be done.  I would go to add/remove programs and remove any Java references.  Then start up a chat.  When I first did that in Firefox it asked me to install a plugin.  After I did that, I just restarted Firefox and it all worked great.  Hope this helps some.  Nothing more on my end I can do as far as how this functions.  It's just a small addon to the forum packages.  No real settings in it or anything.

Offline Picard_delta_5

  • Captain of the Universe
  • Fleet Admiral
  • *
  • Posts: 1607
  • Tea - Earl Grey... Hot
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2006, 08:31:30 PM »
hmmmm....   maybe it is simpler than that... try to get on the chat and just wait for a minute or 2. you might not have given it a chance to load...  ???
Star Trek Will Rise Again

Offline Geekyfanboy

  • Shiny!!!!
  • Global Moderator
  • Master of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 11918
  • Shiny
    • My Personal Website
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2006, 09:00:25 PM »
well I removed java and went to the chat room and got the same screen.. I then went to yahoo chat it it requested that I download java and I did so, but went back to the chat room and still the same grey screen.. oh well guess it wasn't meant to be.. maybe I can chat from my Mac at work. Thanks for everyones help.

Offline Rico

  • Star Trek Lives
  • Administrator
  • Ruler of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 26654
  • Geeks Rule!
    • TREKS in SCI-FI
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2006, 03:45:11 AM »
I'm really thinking now it's more a security setting issue for you.  When I first ran it under Firefox I got a box that I had to check yes to in order to allow it to run.  Some type of app. from another company pops up.  See if you can try another Windows machine sometime Keeny - or the Mac like you said.  Sorry it's giving you troubles.

Offline Rico

  • Star Trek Lives
  • Administrator
  • Ruler of the Universe
  • *
  • Posts: 26654
  • Geeks Rule!
    • TREKS in SCI-FI
    • Email
Re: CHAT function now on forum...
« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2006, 04:25:29 AM »
I just loaded on my work PC under Firefox.  Here's the first thing that pops up that I was talking about that you have to accept.  The second picture is chat running.  Does take just a few seconds to load up.  Do these look familiar?



[attachment deleted by admin]

 




Enterprise © Bloc