• Welcome to TREKS IN SCI-FI FORUM.

News:

Don't forget to drop a review on iTunes for the podcast sometime or send a donation in for the show.

Main Menu

Who is this guy Rob in Orlando?

Started by metron07, April 02, 2007, 07:45:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

metron07

Who is this guy Rob in Orlando?

My name is Rob Scalise and I live in Orlando Florida, that you know. I grew up in New York City in the last century.

I am 50 something and am an original Star Trek fan When I was a sophomore in high school in the1967 it was my science class homework to watch Star Trek and report back to the class because both my teacher and I loved the show. I was one of the fans who wrote into NBC to beg them not to cancel the show which resulted in the show staying on a little bit longer than it did.

I was at some of the first Creation conventions that occurred in NYC, usually in a hotel across from Madison Square Garden. I got my wife Tammy hooked on STNG in the early 1990’s and she went to a few of the conventions with me and met her favorite actor Brent Spiner. I remember asking in his audience appearance a  thoughtful ( I thought) question about why he made the Data character take such long pauses when he would have a speech in an episode. His answer was typical Brent, “Because I take long pauses” I cringed with embarrassment, but at that moment he gave me a break and admitted it was his attempt to be a machine trying to mimic human speech. I quickly sat down while the going was good.

I’m not really a big collector. I’m more of a present moment kind of fan. The moment you watch a favorite episode or movie, the moment you meet someone involved in the shows, The moment you speak to Brent in front of hundreds of people, the moment you shed a tear during a final episode, or when I learned of Gene’s death.